So, I've owed an update here for about two and a half weeks now, and haven't had the chance until now. Even now, I should probably be either sleeping or working. Here's a quick run down of my time in Philadelphia so far.
of August after a very long day of traveling. We were literally exhausted so we
basically just got to our room at the VERY swanky hotel and crashed. The next day we were super productive: after the best pancakes I've *ever* had, we went to my room, matriculated, sorted a bank account, a phone and went to
. Then we headed over to Delaware to have dinner with old friends from Ohio and their adorable son.
International Orientation was, as expected, pretty dull. However, spending a weekend in a room together is a surefire way to meet tons of people and make friends. There are 7 of us here from Edinburgh, and overall about 160 (or more) exchange students from all over the place. We had lectures about just about anything they could think of lecturing us on - from Sex Ed to Alcohol to how to make friends. I did skip some of these on the second day in favor of meeting with my PIP (Penn international partner) and some of her friends for lunch at one of the famous food trucks.
Jetlag kind of cramped my style for a while, but I eventually managed to shake it. The international department organized quite a bit of stuff for us - such as scavenger hunts through the city (which turned into a quest for
Hoagies). We did get to discover the
Gayborhood, and walked all the way down to the river... through China town, past the Liberty Bell (didn't go in, couldn't be bothered with the lines), through some parks, through the old city... Of course, I was too busy looking around to take many pictures. Philadelphia is a great city; rough around the edges, but its got a really vibrant energy to it. The pictures I did manage to take that day are few and far between, but here are a couple:


1 - the first
Hoagie of the year (from the most amazing food market), and 2, a sand statue tribute to the
Phillies.
Thursday night was the first night I went out; a group of us wandered around until we found a frat party - we didn't have to go far. This was fun, and we had a good time, so we decided we'd walk around a bit and see if we could find somewhere else to go. This was also fun - walking and chatting and having a good time. Such a good time, in fact, that I didn't bother watching where I was walking, stepped off a curb and twisted my ankle. In fact, what happened is that I fractured a bone in my foot.
So, that Friday was spent at the doctor, in the hospital, and in my room in a whole lot of pain... and also pretty depressed. Dad was still around to help out, which made things a lot easier... we went food sh

opping and got some other stuff to put in my room. My foot got put in a walking boot by the doctor and I was given crutches (which I haven't had to use since, thank god).
I can't really remember too much specific about the following days, I suppose they involved a lot of the same - hobbling around, trying to get things accomplished, hanging out with new friends. At some point in time we all went to Convocation - the official induction of the Freshmen. The President of the University gave a pretty awful speech (she pretty much quoted someone every two seconds, and basically told all the freshmen that they didn't need to do any work), but the whole event was saved by the overarching theme of Ivy League pomp and circumstance. Actually, there was enough pomp and circumstance to turn any plebe's blood blue. After the ceremony there was a dessert reception... which would have been amazing had I been able to battle my wa

y towards the dessert. The entire freshman class trying to cram into one tiny tent (plus transfers and exchange students) was a pretty impressive sight to behold. I've heard that the desserts were phenomenal though.
New Student Orientation week was great, even with my broken foot. There were tons of things to do all week... well, in theory at least. To be honest, we ended up just chilling out a lot. I guess people went out a lot - I managed to make it to at least one frat party that week, and even danced a little. Which, I feel, earns me a whole lot of props.
Classes started sooner than I would have liked them to - and accelerated a lot faster than I would have liked them to as well. Campus is really fun when

it's packed full of people. I don't have many pictures yet because mobility's been a bit of a problem, but soon I will bring more pictures. Here's a taster though; this is where I have my Cold War history lecture. Its the oldest building on campus... probably has a lot more interesting facts about it as well but I never paid attention.
Classes are going to be tough, but the ones I've chosen all seem really interesting. I don't think I've ever been quite so busy in my life, and it seems like it's going to stay that way. But so far, its been really fun - in spite of obvious setbacks. I'm also planning tons of trips, like to New York and Boston, to see as many people and places as I can.
Its late now and I have to spend most of tomorrow working, but I'll be back soon with more and better updates: for instance, an account of my very first football game, and more silly pictures.
Speaking of, Nico has also been having a blast out here. See?

Having breakfast at XIX, the cafe up at the top of our hotel building

somewhere there's a picture of the AMAZING pancakes they had - but the coffee was awesome too.

PRETTY NEW LAPTOP

Nom nom nom. Burrito is the best hangover food.

Nico displays Penn Pride at the Football game.